Animax LaMB soundtrack to feature Simple Plan, The Click Five tracks

Singapore - Animax Asia’s first original animation movie produced in high definition, LaMB, will feature songs written and performed by popular French-Canadian pop punk band Simple Plan and American rock band The Click Five.

Simple Plan’s ‘I Can Wait Forever’ is set to be the title track for LaMB while The Click Five’s song ‘Summertime’ will also feature in LaMB. Animax Asia and Peach Blossom Media will produce music videos for both songs to premiere on Animax across Asia and online in December 2008.

In addition, Simple Plan will transform into spiky-haired anime characters to perform as an animated band in LaMB. An animated music video of the theme song, to be produced by Animax Asia, will premiere in December.

The story is about people on a planet called Cerra, who are imprisoned by a 'laminated suit' that makes them virtual slaves. LaMB, which costs over S$1 million to make, is produced by Animax Asia and Singapore-based animation studio Peach Blossom Media. It is funded by the Singapore Economic Development Board and Sony Pictures Entertainment Networks, which owns Animax Asia.

It will premiere in two half-hour episodes and an hour-long finale on Animax channels, online and on 'mobisodes' - short teasers that can be downloaded on mobile phones.

Gregory Ho, vice-president and general manager of Animax Asia, said: “Animation has come into its own as an entertainment form and we are excited about our first full-length feature animation. It is also our way of supporting the local animation industry.”

  • Share this article
  • Got more on this story? Email Asia Image